top of page

Gone Lavender~ DIY Hair Color


http://www.sallybeauty.com/on/demandware.store/Sites-SA-Site/default/Default-Start?utm_source=bing&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=%5BB%5D%20Core%20-%20Exact&utm_term=sally%27s%20beauty&utm_content=Core%20-%20Sally%20Beauty

So the other day I decided I wanted my hair to be Lavender. Lucky for me my good friend, and roomie, and fashionista sister is a licensed Cosmetologist. I personally never color my hair I love everything natural as possible but I also like doing sporadic shit. This endeavor lead us to Sally's Beauty. http://www.sallybeauty.com​

I let Jenny handle this one, one- hundred percent. She decided that we would go with a demi-permanent color by Color Brilliance Bright. This means we are just" staining" the hair instead of depositing with 10 volume. This color will wash out more with each wash but the upside is it doesn't contain peroxide nor an actual commitment to permanently coloring your hair.

Here are the supplies you will need :

1.) Gloves ( funny story we knew we needed gloves and failed to get them on both occasions, resulting in jenny having purple hands ;) )

2.) Color ( Lavender 2 to 1 Titanium)

3.) Mixing bowl & Color Brush ( Purple, Pancreatic Cancer ~ )

4.) Clips & a towel or cape ( capes are way more fun)

Mix colors in bowl with brush and section off hair into four parts. We started in the front so the color would be sitting longer in the back. I have a natural ombre going on making the color turn out awesome but it's harder to absorb and I refuse to bleach my hair. Make sure to go around your hairline and than root to end evenly applying color in small sections. For us the first Lavender wasn't up to par so we reapplied the next morning when Sally's opened. This time we let it sit for almost two hours and reapplied more color 30 minutes into it to try and let my hair soak up as much as possible. After the time is up ( anywhere between 1-3 hours ) shampoo & condition your hair with COLD water, this is a must! You can use purple shampoos like Paul Mitchell which will help color last longer or try something new like http://aubreyorganics.com/ or https://www.klorane.com/fr-fr/cheveux

All in all it costs around $40.00 and this is including all the above materials that can also be used in future coloring's. With a License for Cosmetology, Sally's Beauty will give you a small discount but you don't have to have a license to purchase products there. The Sally's we went to even threw in a complementary Coconut Treatment Mask and a Coconut Oil Treatment that I am dying to try! ( i'll be blogging about these products) I am not at all opposed to Salon coloring's but it's nice to switch it up now and than and save a little money. After all I will be traveling to Southeast Asia and Australia come January!! Thank you so much for reading I hope you enjoyed and feel like coloring your hair :)

Pictures were taken in the most natural lighted room in our house.

bottom of page