top of page

What I'm Packing For Backpacking


Backpacking

       Hope everyone is having a great week! I’m chilling on the beach waiting to head back to LAX to catch our 11:30pm flight to Bali. I decided to do a blog on packing for anyone who is interested or inspired to go backpacking but has no idea what to bring or how much you have to spend. I've watched dozens of you tube videos and read a thousand blogs, i'm pretty confident I've packed smart and have everything I need. In the off chance I don't there will be plenty of opportunities to purchase things while we are traveling. The first thing I would suggest doing is research where you want to go and when so you can determine the seasons and what not to bring. This will help you tremendously, especially if you are living out of a backpack for a few months. You don't need to pack a bunch of stuff you don't need but think you might need. For us Southeast Asia is going to be both dry and wet. If we did our research correctly we should be hitting Thailand and Indonesia at the perfect times. I decided the easiest way to break down what we need and prices would be a list so here we go.

Clothing: Since it's humid and moist most of the time we tried to buy fabric that is Polyester, Nylon, or Spandex. This is not the easiest when your a female so it's OK if some of your clothes are cotton. Certain places like temples in Southeast Asia require you to cover your shoulders and knees. I had to re-pack my bag three times.

Hygiene and Beauty: Seeing as we're traveling for five months we may not always have showers or laundry facilities. The people at R.E.I were very helpful in picking out the best products for backpacking/camping. 

  • Two 2 FL oz bottles of 18 in 1 Hemp Peppermint Pure- Castile Soap ( R.E.I, we can use this for shampoo and laundry $4 each)

  • Two 3 FL oz bottles of sunscreen ( Sun Bum $10 each)

  • Two packs wet wipes ( Wet Ones, hypoallergenic, fragrance and alcohol free $4 each)

  • Four 1 FL oz hand anti bacterial hand gel (Bath and Body Works, $2 each)

  • One 1.7 oz dry shampoo ( Acure $7)

  • One of each 3 FL oz shampoo, conditioner, bodywash (whatever your shampoo is, purchase travel size containers from Wal-Mart or Walgreens)

  • One shower Caddy ( I bought a cheap one for $7 at Wal-mart)

  • One travel size toothbrush/toothpaste ($1-$5 Wal-mart, Target, or the Dollar Store will have these)

  • One 3 FL oz moisturizer spray ( Lily Farm $30 )

  • One 3 FL oz Argan Oil ( Target or Wal- Mart $10)

  • One 3 FL oz Witch Hazel (  I use this for makeup remover, you can find it at local drug store, Natural Grocers, or Target $7)   

  • One compact powder foundation ( Mineral Fusion $25)

  • One waterproof mascara  ( Mineral Fusion $20)

  • One Diva Cup ( Wal-Mart $30 this is life changing for females traveling)

  • Q-tips & Cotton balls ( you can purchase these anywhere for cheap)   

  • R.E. I Trail 40 Backpack pack with bladder bag ( $80 on sale) 

  • R.E.I Helio Sack sleeping bag ($60 on sale)

  • R.E.I Eno Hammock ( $100)

  • R.E.I Sea ToSummit Dry Lite Microfiber towels ( 3 sizes, antibacterial $100)

  • R.E.I Bug Net for hammock ($80)

  • R.E.I First Aid Kit ( $15)   

Electronics:We really tried to take into consideration that we may not always have electricity so purchasing the Solar Panel was probably the best idea to date. We love taking videos and pictures so a Canon Camera was a must and so was the Go Pro (even though it's our second Go Pro). Music is essential to life and makes everything better :)

  • Best Buy Goal Zero Nomad 7 Plus Solar Panel Charger ($100 perfect for charging all our electronics in the sun)

  • Best Buy Altec Lansing Portable Waterproof Speaker ($45 I found this to be just as nice as my JBL only smaller and waterproof)

  • Best Buy Samsung Tablet ($80)

  • Best Buy Canon Camera ($ 250)

  • Best Buy Go Pro Hero 5 ($320) 

bottom of page